Meetings



No Meeting in August due to group outing.
Next Meeting Tuesday 10th October:
Members Night

Jodrell Side Branch Meetings

Tuesday 10th January John Lindley, Poetry For All
Tuesday 14th February Karen Van Hoff, A Fashion Designer's Journey
Tuesday 14th March Janet Bradshaw, Nine Lives
Tuesday 11th April - Barbara Wilkinson, Herbs For Health & Wellbeing
Tuesday 9th May - Jean Finney, Origin of Nursery Rhymes
Tuesday 13th June - Camille Bradford: Memories of Army Childhood 2
Tuesday 11th July -Lynne Munden, Art of Chinese Painting
August -  No Meeting Group Outing
Tuesday 12th September - Michael Walker, Head Gardner at Trentham
Tuesday 10th October - Members Night
Tuesday 14th November - AGM
Tuesday 12th December - Christmas Dinner

Meeting of Tuesday 12th September: 
Garden Meeting Supper & Michael Walker, Head Gardner at Trentham
A fascinating talk about the history of Trentham Hall, Stoke-On-Trent and the beautiful park land that surrounds it. Michael entertained us with stories that told of the development of the hall as a Priory, to its demise in the 1930s. This was when the last remaining building that stood on the sight, fell into disrepair having been sold to the National Coal Board. In stark contrast to the sad tale of the grand hall, we learnt how the gardens have gone from strength to strength and now include, stunning  Italian gardens, lakeside meadows, a restored scenic mile-long lake, art work and play areas for the whole family. Trentham Estate now offers the visitor a chance to 'experience distinctively charming, inspirational shopping and seek out the perfect purchase...close up monkey encounter or a high rope adventure' With plenty of places to eat a day visit to Trentham seems a must! www.trentham.co.uk 01782 646646.The talk was followed by a delicious supper of cheese, pate and wine. Visiting members from within the group were welcomed and thanks given to visitors who had helped with the jumble sale.

Speaker Thursday 26th October: 
Aaron Dean is a partner at Trevanion & Dean auctioneers, auctioneer of works of art, curios, books & furniture. BBC Flogit valuer, lover of the great outdoors and gardening!

Dane Valley Group Meetings
Our contact for group activities is Marion Taylor

Fun quiz – Thursday 28th September (Lower Withington Village Hall)
Gateway to the Highlands - 21st - 25th September
Autumn Group Meeting – Thursday 26th October, (Lower Withington Village Hall) - Speaker Aaron Dean. Tickets £5.00. See Pat for tickets.
Carol Service – Sunday 10th December, Swetenham. Refreshments after service. 


Cheshire Federation Womens Institute
For more details of events below ask our WI secretary Pat, see the 'Cheshire
News' Letter or take a look at the county website: www.cheshirewi.org.uk. 

Monday 18th September - Scrabble and Dominoes Event
Tarvin Community Centre CH3 8LY, 7.00 pm
Saturday 23rd September - 'Mrs Beeton, My Sister'
Tarvin Community Centre CH3 8LY, 2.00 - 5.00 pm
Tuesday 3rd October - Speaker John McCarthy CBE  
Winsford Lifestyle Centre, 11.00 - 3.30 pm. Tickets £12.00.
Thursday 30th November - Christmas Flower Demonstration. Lower Withington Village Hall. See Pat for details.
Wednesday 6th December - Carol Service £8.00 includes coach and entry. Pick up Mrs Kettles 9.15 and Holmes Chapel 9.25. See board for names.
Share by: